Book Blitz: Sacrifice by Carolyn Arnold

Sacrifice banner

This is my stop during the book blitz for Sacrifice by Carolyn Arnold. This book blitz is organized by Lola's Blog Tours. The book blitz runs from 31 July till 6 August, you can view the blitz schedule here.

31 July is the fourth anniversary of Sacrifice!

SacrificeSacrifice (Detective Madison Knight #3)
By Carolyn Arnold
Genre: Mystery
Age category: Adult
Release Date: 31 July 2012
Publisher: Hibbert & Stiles Publishing Inc.

Blurb:
Finding justice comes at a high price…

When the son of business tycoon Marcus Randall, washes up on the shore of the Bradshaw River, Detective Madison Knight must sacrifice everything including her career to find justice for the "perfect murder."

With Marcus Randall already on the radar of the Secret Service for fraud and counterfeiting, the investigation sheds new light and they require the full co-operation of the Stiles PD. But with power and money to back him, Marcus has a reach that extends right inside the police department.

If Madison's going to find out the truth, she'll have to sort through the lies and balance diplomacy with politics.


You can find Sacrifice on Goodreads

You can buy Sacrifice here:
- Amazon
- Barnes & Noble
- Kobo
- iBooks

Excerpt:


Chapter 1

The pungent odor hit Madison instantly upon opening the morgue doors. She pinched the tip of her nose, but it did little to save her from the smell of decomp becoming embedded in her lungs and sinus cavities.

Whoa, hes a ripe one.Terry, her partner, stepped through the doorway behind her. He grabbed for a cloth mask from the dispenser mounted on the wall and handed her one.

Cole Richards, the ME, stood by the body as a tall, dark guardian.Its the exposure to the air accelerating the putrefaction process. This is why the autopsy must be done tonight,” Richards said.

Madison noted Richards talked with his eyes on the dead, an unusual thing for him. Maybe something about this death touched him on a personal level? She looked from Richards to the body.

The male victim, estimated in his early twenties, lay on the metal slab, a white sheet draped over his extended abdomen to his shoulders. His skin was almost black and appeared separated from the bone as if one could peel it off like the rind of an orange. His face, like the rest of him, was distorted and bloated beyond recognition. His eyes were open and vacant, clouded by death. His arms lay above the sheet to his sides. Some of his fingers were missing nails. The skin of one fingertip had been removed. Madison deduced Richards had taken it for identification purposes and forwarded it to the lab.

There was no wallet found on the body, nor any identifying marks to flag him in the missing persons database. The only things on him were a napkin with a womans name and number, a wad of cash, and a prepaid, untraceable cell phone. He wore a gold chain with a pendant that had the letters CC engraved.

The body had washed up on the shore of the , which ran through the city of and fed from a lake an hour away. The property belonged to a middle-aged couple, without children, by the last name of . The wife had found the body when she went to get wood for their woodstove. She said he hadnt been there the day before. They had interviewed the couple at length and obtained their backgrounds, which came up with nothing noteworthy.

How long do you estimate he was in the water?Madison asked.

As simply a deduction from what is before me, at least two to three weeks.Richards pulled his eyes from the body to look at .

Was there pain buried there? It was as if he read her silent inquiry. He returned his attention to the body.

Richards continued, Im basing this on when he surfaced. In cooler water, bacteria causing decomp multiplies more sluggishly. If this was a warmer season, and it was three weeks later, wed have a skeleton. Stomach contents will pinpoint the time period of his last meal. Ill also be consulting with a friend of mine, Wayne McDermott. Hes a forensic climatologist. He can provide us with recent temperatures so we can get a closer estimate for TOD.

So what are your thoughts? Dead when he went in or did he drown?

This is still to be determined. He is young and appears to have been in excellent shape.

Madisons eyes diverted to the body. The currents of the had swept away any trace of a fit male adult. His bloated features made him appear more like a character from a sci-fi movie than a once living human being.

It is unlikely he had a heart attack on entry into the water—assuming he was alive at the time. Quick results would show frothy liquid in the lungs, but because he was submerged for a considerable time, any trace of this would be gone. Tissue samples from his lungs, however, will be taken and sent to the lab for further analysis. Well also extract bone marrow in search of diatoms.He must have noticed the expression on their faces.These are microscopic organisms which are specific to a region. If it made it to his bone marrow, he was alive when he went into the water. We could also find evidence of this in his kidneys, should this be the case. This will prove whether he drowned in the Bradshaw or was dumped in the river.His eyes went to the body.Were not going to get these answers just by looking at him.

Anything else you can tell us?Terry asked.

His neck is broken but, it might simply be the trauma the body experienced as it went down the Bradshaw. I will require a full tox panel be run on him. Well find out if he had any drugs or alcohol in his system. As you know, that will take at least a week.

Madison latched eyes with the ME.Well, lets assume he did drown. How would we know it was homicide?

A faint smile touched Richards’s lips, exposing a slit of white teeth.It is dubbed the perfect murder. But until we can establish his identity, concrete his background, and get the tox results back, I will not be finalizing COD on paper.

He could have jumped in. Suicide?Terry rubbed at the back of his neck.

Possibly, but unlikely. The reason for this is the natural tendency to surface. Drowning suicides usually involve the use of a heavy object to counteract that instinct.

Maybe he didnt think things through and acted on impulse. Most suicides are executed in the moment. He could have got caught in the current and pulled under the ice. His restraint could have broken free from the body.

I prefer not to speculate.Richards’s eye contact scolded Terry.But at this point, I would treat this case as suspicious leaning toward homicide. Look at this.Richards lifted the left hand of the victim.

Madison noticed the circular impression on the backside of the hand.Cigarette burn, or possibly something larger.She studied it, and a few seconds later looked at Richards.Its almost large enough to be a car lighter or a cigar.

Richards’s eyes narrowed, pinching the dark skin around his eyes.

So our vic was definitely in some sort of struggle before ending up in the river. But intention is going to be hard to prove.

Madison glanced at her skeptical partner.Hard, but not impossible.She went back to Richards.So, you dont have an ID and only a speculative conclusion as to the cause of death. Why did you call us down here?

Richards pulled back the sheet and pointed to the victims shoulders.This.

There were darkened lines, a subtle contrast, two widths, a mirror image to each other, and one on each shoulder close to the neck.

Bruising.

Yes, contusions.

From what? What would cause something like that?

That Ill leave for you to figure out.Richards placed the sheet back over the body.But if our guy did drown due to forcible action, these marks could have come from our murder weapon.


It’s Love That Scares Her…

“Madison is what you’d expect from a female cop: tough, tom-boyish, sarcastic, fearless and intensely emotional and dedicated when it comes to her job. And yet she has a vulnerability that Carolyn does a beautiful job of illustrating just when you need to see Madison’s softer side. She’s lonely, as much as she refuses to admit it…”
Katie Jennings
Author of So Fell the Sparrow





Give Detective Madison Knight a dead body and she can handle it. In fact, she loves solving murders and finding justice for the victims and their families. But when it comes to love, Madison would rather avoid the word—and any commitment that comes with it—with her entire being.
Maybe it’s because she’s been hurt before, or maybe it’s because she’s so focused on her job, but I’d go with the former. She’s more vulnerable and lonely than even she might realize. But Madison’s not ready to admit to herself that she needs love and romance.

She believes “her heart was broken for life” when she found her fiancé in bed with another woman. But somehow Blake Golden, a defense attorney, wormed his way into her life. They’ve been dating a few months now, and Blake wants more. But is taking the next step something she’s ready for? And really, aren’t they on two different paths in life? He defends the guilty, and she strives to put them away.

It’s the murder of a local business tycoon’s son that will really test their relationship. Will Madison be willing to look the other way as her boyfriend represents the opposition, or will she cut and run?
--Carolyn Arnold
Author of Sacrifice (Detective Madison Knight Series)


ABOUT THE DETECTIVE MADISON KNIGHT SERIES

Murder. Investigation. The pursuit of justice. Do you love trying to figure out whodunit? How about investigating alongside police detectives from the crime scene to the forensics lab and everywhere in between? Do you love a strong female lead? Then I invite you to meet Detective Madison Knight as she solves murders with her male partner, utilizing good old-fashioned investigative work aided by modern technology.

This is the perfect book series for fans of Law & Order, CSI, Blue Bloods, Rizzoli & Isles, Women’s Murder Club, and Hawaii Five-O.

Read in any order or follow the series from the beginning: Ties That Bind, Justified, Sacrifice, Found Innocent, Just Cause, Deadly Impulse, In the Line of Duty, Life Sentence (Bonus Prequel).

Sacrifice Detective Madison Knight


Carolyn ArnoldAbout the Author:
CAROLYN ARNOLD is an international best-selling and award-winning author, as well as a speaker, teacher, and inspirational mentor. She has four continuing fiction series—Detective Madison Knight, Brandon Fisher FBI, McKinley Mysteries, and Matthew Connor Adventures—and has written nearly thirty books. Her genre diversity offers her readers everything from cozy to hard-boiled mysteries, and thrillers to action adventures.

Both her female detective and FBI profiler series have been praised by those in law enforcement as being accurate and entertaining, leading her to adopt the trademark: POLICE PROCEDURALS RESPECTED BY LAW ENFORCEMENTâ„¢.

Carolyn was born in a small town and enjoys spending time outdoors, but she also loves the lights of a big city. Grounded by her roots and lifted by her dreams, her overactive imagination insists that she tell her stories. Her intention is to touch the hearts of millions with her books, to entertain, inspire, and empower.

She currently lives just west of Toronto with her husband and beagle and is a member of Crime Writers of Canada.

And don’t forget to sign up for her newsletter for up-to-date information on release and special offers at http://carolynarnold.net/newsletters.

You can find and contact Carolyn here:
- Website
- Facebook
- Twitter
- Goodreads
- Newsletter

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Release Celebration w/Giveaway: Sexiest Couple Alive by M. Clarke

Virtual Tour w/Giveaway: Body Checking by Jami Davenport

Book Blitz w/Giveaway: Alexander's Blood Bride by Lorelei Moone